Hit Subscribe Digest

Digest, April 2023

The Hit Subscribe Digest, April 2023.

Terraform ECS

While my app dev days are a little far in my rearview, I do like to try to keep up here and there with what’s going on, to be at least passingly informed. So I found it interesting to read this tutorial about managing an AWS ECS cluster with Terraform.

ITIL Release Management

Back in my management consulting days, I spent a lot of time in the enterprise, where getting things to production more quickly was a serious struggle. I can therefore appreciate a piece of content that walks through ITIL release management in an approachable way.

Svelte vs React

File another one here under “finger on the pulse” category for me. I have no idea what I’d choose for a front end tech these days (though I have been writing a little javascript to support our keyword research checks and modeling), but I’m glad to know that content like this comparison of svelte and react exists, to help me out.

Exploratory Testing

When I used to do a lot of work with software quality consulting, I remember one of the most important lessons for organizations being to automate as much of the test pyramid as maintainably possible for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is eliminating toil among the QA folks. This frees them up to do exploratory testing, which I think is an underappreciated concept.

Slack-JIRA Integration

I feel like I’m in a constant battle to keep the amount of systems are distributed business uses to a minimum. Slack, Asana, Trello, ClickUp, Google Office, Hubspot, etc. Nothing against any of these tools, but they tend to proliferate when you’re not careful to stop it. I can’t always prevent that, but at least I can help them play more nicely together through integrations, like the one described in this guide to integrating JIRA and Slack.

All rights reserved.